The Hallowed Halls of Academia

 

The_Tree_Outside_My__Cover_for_KindleThe Hallowed Halls of Academia
By Israfel Sivad

What did you say,
you hallowed halls of academia?
That our questions were mere
blasphemies?

Is that what you would say to us,

teach to us, your servants,
faithful and true, respecting
you and the order
you would teach?

Our reply is to challenge.

And if you reject us
yet again, we will move
our operation
underground.

Listen to me. All of you listen:

There are two people
who write for me,
but I can’t tell
you their names.

They are my secret yin and yang.

There are two people
who sleep with me.
They are my Lilith
and my Eve,

to me, Adam, the serpent, the man, Satan.

I thought I was alone,
but there is a harem,
a lion’s den of
men and women

reclining against my breast.

We are cultural aberrations,
hermaphrodites if
we chose to be.
Blasphemy?

We have not yet begun to blaspheme.

From Israfel Sivad’s collection of poems The Tree Outside My Window, available here: http://www.amazon.com/Tree-Outside-Window-Andrews-Songs/dp/1477448489

 

Leave a Reply

