Track 4: Close In

Soundtrack_for_the_N_Cover_for_Kindle

Track 4: Close In
By Israfel Sivad

Whip cracks across my back.
It’s always there just to remind:
a symbolic mark of strength
that I am deaf, dumb, and blind.
If I can’t see with my own eyes,
then I’ll ask you where I begin,
and your rhetoric teaches me
that all we do is live in sin.

What I cannot see is when the walls close in on me.
Still, I cannot feel because nothing’s ever real.

This world bleeds by its own hands:
our wills in conflict with ourselves.
Since we desire our designs:
slit our wrists; it’s suicide.
Our intellects are wasted tools
that we’re encouraged not to use,
and if you say you disagree,
then look around, and you might see…

What I cannot see is when the walls close in on me.
Still, I cannot feel because nothing’s ever real.

A life, a game, it’s all the same –
just the pleasure of your pain.
Backed by popular demand,
masochism’s all you have.
So whip yourself. Cut out your tongue
because mine is mine to keep,
and with my mind I will defy.
I always have and always will.

What I cannot see is when the walls close in on me.
Still, I cannot feel because nothing’s ever real.

Taken from Israfel Sivad’s poem Soundtrack for the New Millennium, available here.

Leave a Reply

